The Council of the European Union today decided on new sanctions against the Belarusian regime.  Around 230 Belarusians connected to the regime have allready been blacklisted. The European Union has now added 29 companies (assets of these entities have also been frozen) and 12 individuals to the list, in response to the repression of the democratic opposition by Lukashenka’s regime.

EU High Representative Catherine Ashton made a statement regarding the new sanctions, during the meeting of foreign ministers in Brussels today:

Our decision today comes in response to the negative developments we have seen in Belarus. The situation is getting worse and the authorities are tightening their grip on civil society. Instead of increasing repression, Belarus must release and rehabilitate all political prisoners and roll back its repressive policies.

Lukashenkas regime reacted quickly to the new sanctions and made clear that the recalled ambassadors of the EU countries are not welcome back to Belarus. Meanwhile, the regime extends their travel ban for people from the democratic opposition and independent journalists in Belarus.